IT Master Services, Sparks Nevada - Your Information Technology Pros
Office Phone: (775) 287-0770
Email: [email protected]

How to delete your Facebook Account

Looking for a new IT partner? Call Us Now (775) 229-4254

Delete Facebook To Protect Your Information

We have had alot of our customers asking us if they should stop using social media. Our advice is to always do whats is best for you. You need to understand Facebook is selling your data and not paying you for it. For this reason, in this article we will explain how you close your Facebook account.

Before you close and delete your account you can download your personal information from Facebook (pictures, posts, etc.) on to your computer.

How To Delete Your Facebook Account

To download your archive using a web browser:

  1. Click on the down arrow in the upper right corner.
  2. Go to Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. In the left-hand column, click on Your Facebook Information.
  4. In the center, find and click on Download Your Information.
  5. You can select which info you want to download (or you can just download all of it). At the top of the page, there are drop-down lists that let you create a date range (if you want to), download your data in either HTML or JSON, and choose between high, medium, or low media quality.
  6. When you’re ready, click on Create File. You’ll get notified via email when your file is ready.
How To Save Your Facebook Account Information

When you are ready to delete your account, go back to the page named “Your Facebook Information” and click on Deactivation and Deletion. Here, you can choose between temporarily deactivating your account or permanently deleting it.

If you want to delete it, either click on Delete Account on that page, or click this link, which will take you to the same account deletion page.

You’ll get another chance here to download your archive or choose deactivation rather than deletion. Once you click Delete My Account, your account will be marked for termination and inaccessible to others using Facebook.

How To Delete And Close Your Facebook Account Information

The deletion of your account takes a few weeks and then it is gone.

Please remember that the tech giant Facebooks also owns several other social media apps including Instagram and WhatsApp.